Icon Quill SLWG 2018.jpg
Short Story Ext 2018.jpg

Short Story Contest

Annual Short Story Contest

Opens October 1 - Deadline December 1


Since its founding in 1920, St. Louis Writers Guild has sponsored an annual short story contest. The contest is one of the oldest in the country, and is certainly one of the most prestigious. Tennessee Williams won first place in 1935 for his story, "Stella for Star."

Annual Short Story Contest opens for submissions every October, the deadline is in December, and prizes are awarded in January. Historically, entries have come from all across the nation and Canada. Stories are blind-judged by an expert in the fields of writing and literature.


The Judge for 2018: Amanda Wells
Amanda Wells is a writer, scholar, and community builder. She was awarded the first ever stARTup grant from the Arts & Education Council of St. Louis, and is joyously busy building FLOW, a community-based literary arts center, at Centene Center for the Arts. Wells is a member of the traveling poetry collective Liminal Women, who claim the vocation of "aiding and abetting women on the threshold." She has a Masters in English Composition from the University of Missouri - St. Louis and has featured on various stages around the country, including Kranzberg Center for the Arts, The Focal Point, The Stage at KDHX, Prohibition Hall, and even a rundown truck stop in Tennessee. Her work has been printed in The 2River View, Bellerive, UMSL’s Litmag, Flood Stage: An Anthology of Saint Louis Poets (which she also edited), and elsewhere. She plans to put more miles on her Nissan in pursuit of liberation and magic, however those may find her.

The Winners of the 2018 Short Story Contest!

First Place - Parade by Larry Lovan
Second Place - So Ezra He Became by RD Puller
Third Place - Yellow Ochre by Lynda S. Madison
Honorable Mention - Streetcar Dreams by RD Puller

Congratulations to the winners and thank you to all who entered. Thank you to the judge, Amanda Wells.