Deane Wagner Poetry Contest

Opens April 1 - Deadline June 1
The Deane Wagner Poetry Contest has been running since the mid 1990s, but St. Louis Writers Guild has been holding poetry contests since 1921.

Please read all the guidelines and rules before submitting.

Entries can be mailed or emailed but must be postmarked or sent by 11:59pm CST on June 1, 2019.

Submission email is on the contest form. SLWGSubmissions at gmail dot com.

For questions about the contest please use SLWGInfo at gmail dot com or the contact form.

Poets do not need to be members of St. Louis Writers Guild to participate in this contest.

Prize Money
First Place $50
Second Place $30
Third Place $20
Honorable Mention $10

2019 Judge:
Ben Moeller-Gaa, is a Pushcart-nominated haiku poet and author of the 2018 Touchstone Award-winning book, Wishbones (Folded Word 2018).

Winners of the 2019 Deane Wagner Poetry Contest

    First Place:  Barbara Blanks “Cat Egoric”

    Second Place: Barbara Blanks “Along the Ridge Trail”

    Third Place: Evenlyn Buretta “Ancient Connections”

    Honorable Mention: Wanda L Lovan “Field Days of Summer”